top of page
  • ryleighmeredith7

Reflection & Refraction

The first three photos are my reflection photos. The last three are refractions.

This photo is one of my favourites, it shows the texture of her hair and the smoothness of her skin. The colour with the warm tones in her hair and the cool colour of the leaves. Also, space because she is filling up most of the foreground.

I took the CD and put it in the sunlight for this photo to get that rainbow effect. Then I used the water droplet to add some dimension and reflections of the rainbow through the water. I also got Charlotte to hold up our iPhone flashlights to add more light wherever it made more of the rainbows.

In this photo, I used shape in the geometric shape of the broken piece of glass. Frame because the broken glass gives the border around her like a frame. I also chose to use a simple background so that the reflection of Charlotte was the main focal point.

This one reminds me of a stock photo and I am really proud of it. This photo is asymmetrical because the lines are not balanced and go in opposite directions. It also uses leading lines in the way the blue line behind the cup is leading to the cup which I wanted to be my main subject. As well as contrast with the smooth white background and clear glass, against the rough electric blue background.

This was one of my first times trying something like this and it turned out pretty well. This photo includes the shape of the circular crystal ball, and also the frame because the ball creates a frame around Charlotte. When editing this I rotated the photo so through the ball Charlotte is right but in the original, she was upside down.

This was also my first time taking a photo with this technique. I used Charlotte's computer to look up a black and white geometrical backdrop and put a glass half full of water on her keyboard. I made sure that we were in a dark space so that it was just the brightness of her laptop reflecting behind the glass. I also wanted the glass in the middle of the frame, so I have the lines on both sides leading towards the cup.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page